A lesson from my travels

on

I have recently arrived home from my travels in Spain. I’d been out in Barcelona for two months. But my time here is only a fleeting visit, in ten days I’ll be off once more, 4 weeks working and travelling around Germany. A case of “Hi and bye”.

I really enjoyed my trip to Barcelona, it wasn’t always easy, but it was an incredibly rewarding experience, and one which I do not regret. I hope to return in September.

During my travels I spent a lot of time by myself. This is not something that I’m used to, and is generally something I’d try my best to avoid. It really hit home the importance of friends and family. People make a place, and places are meant to be shared with the people we hold closest to us.

It’s safe to say I learned a few lessons on my travels, none quite as important as the one that follows, hopefully it is something that I can take on board in the future.

Travelling gives me a deeper appreciation for what I already have and a clearer understanding of what I currently want.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love how deeply you think. Your words capture my favourite part of traveling. A renewed understanding of myself & gratitude for the parts of my life I had become unconscious too. p.s. Barcelona was so different than what I expected. Was it for you too?

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you, that’s very kind of you to say! Yes I kinda agree actually, maybe it was the time of year being tourist season, but it wasn’t exactly how I thought it’d be…still really nice though! 😊

Leave a Reply

