Looking for a place to call home

I’ve been in Barcelona for nearly 6 weeks now. Time has flown by. I can’t believe that I’ve already been here so long. I’ve enjoyed myself, don’t get me wrong, but it hasn’t all been plain sailing.

The first few days after I arrived were difficult, and so has been the past week or so. My course has finished, I’m now TEFL certified, the next step is to look for work and a more permanent residence. But I’m really struggling to do that. They feel so insurmountable, these challenges I face. I don’t know where to start.

How am I supposed to settle down, to look for work and a place to live, in a city which can feel like the loneliest place in the world? How can I call Barcelona home, when I’m still a stranger? I can’t speak the language, and nor do I have many friends here.

Barcelona is a fantastic city, I should make that clear, it has a fascinating history and an amazingly social culture. There are myriad of museums and beautiful sights to visit. But for me, there is just one problem. I know no one to share them with. This limits my sense of enjoyment at the dawn of each new day – knowing that the prospects of me spending that whole day alone are pretty high.

The truth I’ve come to realise is this: life, adventures, experiences are meant to be shared, they’re so much more enriching when they are. Social interaction is what we crave. It’s life-affirming.

It’s still early days, so maybe things will change; perhaps I just need to give it a little bit more time. Perhaps I need start acting like Barcelona is home and then that is what it will become…

Leave a Reply

