Why I blog

on

My blog is a little over 3 years old now. Originally it was just a way to address my day to day grievances, but now it is home to a more permanent ideal that I try to live by: openness and honesty with regards to my mental health.

Hypocrisy you might think, considering that this blog is still a secret to many of the people who know me, but Iā€™m slowly becoming more comfortable in talking about my battles with anxiety and depression. And that is definitely as a result of keeping a blog and the conversations I have had with people I have met along the way.

I continue to blog as it provides help in the short-term. Once a week, every week, I have the chance to process everything that has happened and it gives me the opportunity to learn and understand how and why I feel the way I do. Without blogging, I am sure there would have been many more crises over the last 3 years.

By blogging I am also chronicling my emotional state so that at some point in the future, should I wish to, I can look back on what my life was like growing up, trying to find my feet in this crazy, complicated, adult world.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Openness & honesty bring so much healing energy. For both yourself & your readers. Thank you for sharing your incredible journey. šŸ“šŸ™Œ

  2. Your blog has and continues to be an inspiration to me. Keep up the courageous work šŸ‘

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you that is very lovely to hear!

Leave a Reply

