Making a start

I’ve been struggling with my marathon training recently. It’s not that I lack the motivation. I have plenty of that. I think my problem is that the closer race day gets the bigger the task ahead of me feels.

26.2 miles is a heck of a long way. I’m not sure I’ll be able to run the full distance no matter how much training I do. Before Christmas, the more I trained the more injured I became, so training went on the back-burner for a while – not exactly ideal to say the least!

But last week my running resumed and I managed to complete 9.5 miles in 1hour 22mins – I was over the moon!

There are times where we all face what feel like insurmountable challenges. And truth be told, they are scary. But the important thing is just to make a start. It doesn’t matter where – just that you do. The sooner the better.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Mindfump says:

    Fantastic that you are doing your first marathon. I understand the mental challenges involved. Here are a few things I learned from doing them.

    1. You will do
    2. You’re not doing a marathon you’re doing 4 10k runs (plus a little bit). Aim for 1 hour for each 10k, in one hour you need to consume 200 call, 500-1000ml water/energy juice and you need to high five the encouraging crowds.
    3. When I started running I could not run a mile. I had to train to get me over a mile and even 2 miles seemed impossible. 6 months after that day I ran my first marathon. One year after that I did an ironman triathlon.

    Trust me the battle is in your head – your body is more than capable of doing these things. You will finish and I will look forward to reading about your experiences! Enjoy it!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you so much for such a great advice! I hadn’t thought about breaking it down into 4 10km runs – makes a lot of sense to break it down into smaller, more manageable chunks. Yes I agree – like with a lot of things, half the battle is your state of mind. Running can be incredibly rewarding because there is a meaningful relationship between effort and reward. Good luck to you and thanks again! 🙂

      1. Mindfump says:

        You are very welcome and I wish you all the best! you will do it 100% looking forward to reading about how it goes.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you, I promise to keep you all updated – now less than 2 months to race day! 🙂

      3. Mindfump says:

        Amazing – keep it up!

  2. jadekmoore says:

    This is great advice, and I love that you’ve applied it to your marathon training (something I can’t relate to but admire) and still mentioned a relatable and valid point about overcoming challenges. I hope your training goes well, it will all be worth it in the end!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Jade, really appreciate your feedback 🙂

  3. I love this! I know it sounds silly, but I only started walking to add to my weight loss over the past two weeks. Being a guy that weighed 450 pounds a few months ago, that first was a huge accomplishment. Shortly afterwards, I got invited to do a 5k in April. The idea of 3 miles in front of people terrified me. I knew how much I suffered through my first mile. I signed up in faith that I could build up to a 5k before April. Saturday, I completed 5 miles during my daily walk. Sometimes, we don’t know what we are capable of until we step out of our comfort zones!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Wow! I couldn’t agree with you more – sometimes we just have to give ourselves the opportunity to suprise us. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

