Are you happy?

A simple enough question, right? Ha, if only life was as simple as we like to believe it is!

Am I happy?

Now? Today? Right this second? Hmmm, I’m not sure….

Don’t get me wrong, I have known happiness. If only fleetingly. Perhaps in moments and days, but certainly notΒ over weeks or months.

All that said, I definitely have the potential to be happy though, with the way my life is planning out at the minute. So if I’m not happy, why not? There’s no excuse. I read somewhere that, like luck, we make our own happiness. Happiness is a state of mind.

Are you happy?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I am happy, what have I to be sad about, I’m alive πŸ˜‰

  2. Ps we should not look back or forward to find happiness, happiness is living in the moment which is fluid, we are a bundle of emotions it is our choice what we want to title them πŸ™‚πŸ™ƒ

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Lovely thought. Thank you!

  3. I think “happiness” can be a misleading word. I feel like “happiness” has the connotation of feeling good all the time without the everyday ups and downs. It’s taken me a long time to figure that out. Instead I try to ask myself things like “do I feel at peace?” “am I doing something that brings me joy every day?” “do I feel connected to others?” Then I learn to expect the natural ups and downs and don’t get so discouraged when I’m feeling down. It’s also possible to feel a little down, but be content with some other part of life. Obviously, there is such a thing as too far down and too far up. But I think the middle ground is usually a mixed bag of emotions, and I just try to be at peace with them. P.S. All of that sounds good to me, but it’s a daily challenge for me to put it into practice! And on some days it can feel like a battle, so everybody gets a lot of credit for trying πŸ‘

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I like the rewording of the question, I think it works well… might have to use it myself!! πŸ™‚

      1. Glad you liked it 😊

  4. I think the definition of happiness evolves depending on where we are at in our life. When we were young, happiness might be eating ice cream. When I was older, I thought happiness was finding a great job. Now, that I even older, I am happy about the little things. Whether you have to find happiness? I don’t know. I would like to think it is a little of both. Sometimes, happiness comes easily, but when it doesn’t, you have work a little harder to find it. Or it is just being present, I guess. Hmm, this is getting complicated. You are not alone for sure. Everyone is looking for it. πŸ™‚

  5. Yes I am! Today is a good day. 😊

    You?

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Yes thank you! Today has been a good day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

