University misconceptions

Last week I went to visit one of my friends at Nottingham University. I had a great time, it was my first proper experience of uni life – house sharing, going out, etc. and it was brilliant.

Nottingham, my friend tells me, gets a little bit of stick, but it really is a lovely place to visit. There are so many different places to eat and drink, which is just perfect for me!

I’ve always had a few apprehensions about university, but my brief visit highlighted a couple of misconceptions I held about life at university. None bigger than this one.

Just because you’re at uni, you don’t necessarily have your life planned out.

I always imagined that uni was the place to go when you knew what you wanted. When you had everything together and we’re ready to start living your own independent, adult life. But not everyone at uni knows where they are heading in life and what they want to get out of it. In a way, uni is the experience that teaches them exactly what it is they want. I feel a lot better for knowing this.

I’ve always been a little harsh on myself for not going to uni as it just didn’t feel right. Sometimes I considered myself a failure for not going, but my week away has definitely dispelled a few myths.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. You’re definitely right. A lot of people I went to college (“uni”) with didn’t decide what they wanted to do until close to the end. Myself included. It’s a great place to learn more about what you want to do, and you don’t have to have it all figured out.

Leave a Reply

