A little puzzle for you…

Hello,

I thought that I’d try something new today. I came across a little puzzle, which I’d like to share with you…

A man and his son are in a serious car accident. The father is killed, and the son is rushed to the emergency room. Upon arrival, the attending doctor looks at the child and gasps, “This child is my son!”

Who is the doctor?

I wanted to share this with you, as I thought that this demonstrates a little bit of what I’ve been posting about recently. I asked family members and some close friends this very same question and I got mixed responses. It’d be interesting to hear how quickly you worked it out, if you did at all. Please share your thoughts in the comment section! 🙂

Anyways, just in case you haven’t worked it out yet. [SPOILER ALERT] The answer is his mum.

I know many of you will have got the answer straight away, and so the importance of this post might be a little lost on you, but there are many people out there who would have been stumped by the question, at least for a second or two. Why? Because of predetermined beliefs on an unconscious level. Things that we do not have any direct control over. Although I’m no expert!

The bit that confuses many people is that women can be doctors too. Society has brought many of us up with societal and gender stereotypes, and we don’t even realise that we possess the discrimination that goes with it. Are we sexist without realising it?

How can we fix a problem if we are unable to recognise its existence?

14 Comments Add yours

  1. katiereablog says:

    This is such a thought provoking post. Thank you for sharing it with us

  2. Did you hear this from the movie, Tin Cup? I love that movie! I too was stumped the first time I heard the riddle. Good post, Matt.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I actually read it in a book. Yeah it made me think a little bit. Thought it was a good one to share!

  3. Until the problem is recognised it can’t be solved! 😉

  4. KathrinS says:

    Wow, you’re right – I didn’t get it right away.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Not everyone does. And that’s not a reflection on you by the way!

      1. KathrinS says:

        I know – I just thought it was interesting.

  5. Awesome!! I’m sad to say I didn’t get the answer right away, even though I consider myself very aware of gender equality! Great follow up on gender issues.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks. Don’t be hard on yourself, it’s a reflection of society rather than you!

      1. It’s so true. Amazing how unconscious the whole thought process is.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I know right? I’m no expert though, I was taken aback when I read about it!

      3. Definitely. I’m no expert either but I’m committed to learning about it and standing up against gender stereotypes, like you!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Just trying to make a positive difference in the world. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  6. Very good post for the time we live in
    !

Leave a Reply

