The Serenity Blog Award

A couple of days ago I was lucky enough to receive The Serenity Blog Award. Serenity is a site set up by a group of fantastic bloggers – B.G., Carla, Ariel and Rae – some of whom I keep in regular contact with. If you have a free 5 minutes I’d really recommend heading over there to check out their collaboration as well as their own personal blogs.

As part of the award, Serenity asked me why writing about peace is important to me…

Life is complicated. We wish it was simple, but it’s not. We all know the conflictions that can occur. The difficulty to find balance in our life, between good days and bad days, between work and play, between helping others and looking after ourselves. It’s not as easy as we’d like. We don’t need to be suffering from mental illness to have days in which we struggle.

Writing has helped me find some balance. Not a lot, but a little bit. It helps. Writing makes my dark days manageable. To get my thoughts down, to get them out of my head and in a place where I can rationalise them and start to understand them; it can make such a difference.

I hope that by writing about peace, I can find peace. I’m not there yet, but I’m closer than where I was when I started. Peace, content, happiness – whatever you want to call it – is a state of mind. It takes time to find.

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. In stillness you will find peace. Namaste.

  2. Great response Matt! Thanks for answering the question!

  3. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    Matt answers the question about why writing about peace is so important. Please check out his amazing blog!

  4. It makes sense you write about peace to find peace in your mind. What a great way to find peace for yourself and spread it to others…☮

  5. Ariel Lynn says:

    Reblogged this on Serenity and commented:
    Matt took the time to respond to Serenity’s first ever award & he wrote a fantastic reply to the question “Why do you find it important to write about peace?”

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you so much Ariel. It was a huge surprise to see the award, and I really enjoyed sharing my answer! 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your award M McKeen Wonderful to read your blog
    Congrats on being a fellow nominee of the Serenity Blog Award xx Hope you enjoy Up and Down the Rabbit Hole too – https://goo.gl/C8621N
    Like · Reply · Just now

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! I’ll head on over and have a look!! I’m sure it’ll be amazing 🙂

      1. Hey M McKeen thought you may wish to take a look. Hope your having a good weekend! Up and Down the Rabbit Hole’s new blog on Peace and Serenity is here, Hope you enjoy reading 😉 https://goo.gl/IDRkhD

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Hey, this is such a great piece! Thank you so much for sharing it with me!! Definitely got some important lessons that I could do with learning I think 🙂

      3. ty and I am looking forward to seeing more of your posts 😀 Hope you have a great week!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you, you too! 🙂 uploaded a new one yesterday, https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2016/10/10/male-mental-health/
        Look after yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

