Patience & Persistence

I try to write and publish an engaging, helpful post every Monday. It’s become a routine: every Monday for the last 9 months or so. Any other post on any other day is a bonus.
The only problem is that I’ve really struggled to write today. I’m not sure why. I’ve had a hectic few weeks since coming back from Cambodia and Laos; I’ve been away on holiday with my family and I’ve started up back at work too. Summer has really flown by for me. Can’t really believe how quick it’s gone if I’m honest. But as the saying goes, “time flies when you’re having fun,” so I guess that’s a good thing. It certainly has been a great summer. 
I’ve learnt a couple of things too over the course of the last few months. None more important than the two I’m about to share…

1. Never turn down an opportunity that excites you the moment you here about it. I’ve been drifting the last couple of years, but I’ve been gifted some truly wonderful opportunities along the way. Not least going back to work at my school and then going travelling with a group of students to the other side of the world. It’s not everyday that opportunities come around, but I urge you to be bold and go for it. 

2. Two of the qualities that I value over many others is patience and persistence. I’d like to think that these two characteristics are integral to our efforts in recovery. When you can no longer see the light at the end of the tunnel, when you become overwhelmed by the way your life is heading. Take a step back, take a deep breath and go again. 

Sorry for the rambling post today, I felt the need to keep to my routine. I’ve got some great posts lined up over the next couple of weeks, so please bare with me. It’s just today didn’t feel like the right day. 

Patience & Persistence

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma Missen says:

    Totally agree with these two lessons. If you are excited by an opportunity right from the first word you hear about, it’s a sign to go for it. Patience and persistence are underrated by many. You might not get ‘results’ immediately but it will be worth it. Best wishes and looking forward to your next post ๐Ÿ˜Š

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Emma ๐Ÿ™‚ I think these days we’re brought up being very impatient, whatever we want, we want it now not in a few weeks time. It’s to the detriment of our mental wellbeing sometimes.

      1. Emma Missen says:

        So true – we could all do with a little more patience and it’s especially important when we’re dealing with complex health issues.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Always underestimated. Things take time.

  2. katiereablog says:

    Thank you so much for this post. It is very though provoking and I can definitely relate to what you are saying. I’m following your blog I can’t wait to see what you have in store for us!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks for the follow, I’ve just checked out your blog and it looks fantastic, looking forward to reading your posts. Sounds like you’re discussing some very interesting topics. All the best in the meantime! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. katiereablog says:

        Thank you so much! That means a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to reading more of your work.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ And you’re most welcome!

  3. I think this was a great post! You’re doing great!

  4. Great post Matt, it didn’t feel rambling at all! You’ve identified some of your core values, and that’s no small feat. Patience combined with persistence is a relevant thought for me today! Persistence urges me to go go go, but patience is there for me when the momentum slows down.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks for the positive feedback! It’s a tricky balance sometimes, but hopefully we’ll get the hang of it one day.

  5. Jacque' says:

    The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and inspiration you provide. If you ever want to take this blog to the next level by offering a Mobile App version my company Zenlight would love to help for an extremely low price, we appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacqueโ€™

Leave a Reply

