Taking my time

Today I thought I’d share with a post that I had written a few months back for the lovely Gabriela and her Silently Pained Series. Here’s a link to her fantastic blog. Please do check it out!

I had been trying to write this post for a while. Gabriela commented on my blog months ago, and asked if I’d like to contribute to her Silently Pained Series that she was preparing. Obviously, I said I’d love to, and I really meant it. The opportunity to help others with my writing is something that I couldn’t turn down. One of the many problems that I faced though was when I asked myself what I should write about.

I read through Gabriela’s website. It was all so personal, genuine and caring. Gabriela was giving people like you and me the opportunity to share our stories. The writing was eloquent and beautiful. I didn’t think that anything I could compose would ever be on a par with it. I needed to write about something else.

Time flew by, the days turned to weeks, the weeks to months. Now, here I found myself, the last week of March, probably about 3 months after Gabriela’s initial proposal and I was still stumped.

Everything that I had so far written was not up to the standard of the posts that had gone before it. It just all felt so false. I had restarted time and time again. I changed the message of my post over and over, until I finally settled on one. The penny had dropped. Take your time.

Since being diagnosed as a sufferer of anxiety and depression, my perspective of time has changed immeasurably. Now I consider not how I spend my money, but how I spend my time.

We all have an abundance of time. It’s our most valuable commodity. I know that you might not agree with me on that, but in my life it is, and I believe that I’m personally better off for living it with this mindset.

It’s easy to rush life. To get so far ahead of yourself, you lose sight of where you’re going and where you want to be. Sometimes we just need to slow down and take our time. We’ll reach our destination when the time is right.

Whatever problems you face, whether that is through illness like I do, or in writing a post that is meant to encourage, support and inspire (like I also do!), just take your time. Life is a marathon and not a sprint. There’s no shame in taking a step back and considering your options. It is better to take the time to think it through than it is to rush it and leave yourself open to regret.

As someone much wiser than myself once said: something worth doing takes time.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Gabriela says:

    I love that you shared this, Matt! I had been offline for a while and missed everyone and their writing! Glad to see you are still opening up and writing awesome stuff. šŸ™‚

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Glad to see that you’re back! How are you doing? šŸ™‚

      1. Gabriela says:

        Thanks! Doing ok, just been working on some new stuff for my practice. Lots of work but feeling motivated šŸ™‚ What about you? How are things?

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Pleased to hear it! I’m doing really well thanks, it’s taken a little bit of time to settle back into the old routines, coming back home after a month away. Good luck! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

