A load to carry

I want to help others more than myself. I can see other people’s struggles, the pressures they’re under, the turmoil that they’re experiencing, and I want to take it from them and strap it to my own shoulders. A load to carry along side my own.

I know that thinking this way was one of the factors that got me in this mess in the first place, and it will have to change for me to recover. But if you could help bring one moment of peace for a friend, wouldn’t you?

To know that they would never have to suffer again, is surely worth the increased pain on my part.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I also think that helping others heals ourselves.. It’s inevitable. πŸ™‚

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Sorry for the late reply, have been away! Hope you’re doing alright?

  2. You’re such an amazing and kind person, Matt! Please don’t forget to take care of yourself though. You’re worth it!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks B, as ever, I really appreciate your support. Hope you’ve been ok recently?

      1. I am, and you? Are you still on vacation?

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Been back a couple of days now, so sorry for the late reply! I’m doing well thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. jadekmoore says:

    I think we need a balance between helping ourselves and helping others. If you see someone needs help and you can give it, then definitely help. But in reality, we can’t take other people’s burdens, but we can be part of the process that helps them to have those burdens lifted. πŸ™‚ Hope you are okay Matt, and you are so thoughtful.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Jade, sorry for the slow response, been away this past month and had little Internet. Hope you’re doing alright though? πŸ™‚

      1. jadekmoore says:

        I’m doing okay thank you 😊 where have you been away? Hope you had a nice time!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Pleased to hear it! Thanks Jade, I was in Cambodia and Laos for a month, had such a great time. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

