Eat. Sleep. Survive. Repeat.

Never before did I think that I would ever adapt that common over-used phrase made popular by the youth of today. You see versions of it everywhere you go these days, printed on posters, mugs and t-shirts too. But it really is a synopsis of my life at the moment.

Eat. Sleep. Survive. Repeat.

I’ve been feeling a little low recently…A little lost… A little lonely…

It can take all my strength to just make it through the day when I’m this way, which makes anything more than the bare necessities a struggle – though even they can be difficult.

The repetitive nature of living with a mental health illness is something that at first I did not realise. It is something that I misjudged for a long, long time. We are in a constant battle with these invisible illnesses to gain control over our life’s path on a daily basis.

If I, as a sufferer of anxiety and depression, can misunderstand these illnesses, then what chance of understanding them do those who have never experienced mental health problems?

It really is exhausting. In spite of that, we will make it through; we will all fight a little longer, dig even more deeper, we have to in order to survive.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m sorry you’re feeling down, Matt. I know from experience just how much energy anxiety can drain from someone.

    Just remember how much progress you’ve made and how, if you continue to work hard, you can get through this! Also, you are not alone in your struggles and there are a lot of people who care about you and who are here for you!

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m sorry you’re struggling so much. I really am. If you ever need to talk, please feel free to contact me. I will do my best to just listen and help if possible.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Carla, so sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. I guess there’s just these feelings of despair and hopelessness sometimes, I don’t know where my life is heading and it scares me. Hope you’re doing ok though?

      1. carlalouise89 says:

        I understand completely. I’m sorry everything has been particularly hard lately. Please feel free to private message me on my Facebook page if you ever want to talk more privately.

        I’m okay! I’ve been a bit unwell, but I’m finally starting to feel better, which is good.

        Just so you know, I’m always here if you need someone.

Leave a Reply

