Decisions, decisions, decisions

It’s easy to rush a decision and regret its consequences. How often do we catch ourselves thinking about the path not taken?

What we don’t realise is we have more time than we realise. There’s a lot of time left after a decision for us to live with regret, that makes our initial preparation even more vital.
If we can think through a decision, look at all the possible outcomes and go from there, we will be in a much sounder place. Be careful though, more often than not, our initial thoughts are the ones we should go with. It’s easy to over-complicate a situation with uncertainty and second-guessing.
As I’ve written before, when I have a choice to make, I ask myself the question: What will I regret more – taking a punt and it not paying off or never giving it a go, living in a state of “what might have been”?
11 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey there! This is a great, short & sweet thought. I think you’re absolutely right that our first feelings about a decision are often the right ones. Over-thinking can often lead to rationalizing your way into a decision that just isn’t right for you. I’ve done that a lot of times, and learned the hard way! One of the biggest lesson I’ve learned about decision making is that you have to make the best decision for yourself, and not make a decision to people-please. I’ve made a lot of people-pleasing decisions, and it just ends up with me feeling burned out. It takes self-respect to make good decisions.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      It’s definitely something that we don’t do enough of, it sounds ridiculous but there are times when we need to be more selfish and put ourselves first. Couldn’t agree with you more. Hope you’re doing ok?

      1. Hey there! I’m doing OK! Trying to learn how to be an adult but simplify my life at the same time XD How are you? Did you recently go to France / Isn’t your sailing trip coming up? 🙂

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I like the sound of that, a simple life! If only it was that easy!! Yes I was away last week, came back a couple of days ago. Had such a great time thanks, so nice to get away for a week! 🙂

      3. Glad you enjoyed your trip!! You totally deserve it. Yes, if only the simple life were that…simple to come by! Haha.

  2. That’s a good way to think it through, if you ask me. For really tough decisions I make a list of pros and cons, ask at least five people their opinion and make sure to sleep on it. It makes all the difference!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Good thinking! It must make it so much clearer, having it all written down and not all jumbled up in your head. Hope you’re doing ok?

      1. Yep. I’m doing ok. I hope you are too?

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Yes thanks 🙂 been enjoying a nice relaxing week!

  3. Kristina Cox says:

    I love this! And I think that if you don’t have that gut feeling that tells you not to do it, then do it.
    If you know the decision is not a good one (in terms of self harm or substance consumption), my psychologist told me to stop before I do those things and write down the pros and cons of making that decision.
    I’m not sure what this blog refers to, but I made the spontaneous decision to move out with friends to a new city and it was scary and I’m broke, but I don’t regret it. Even the decisions that you do regret, you get a lesson out of (:

    1. M_McKeen says:

      That’s a very sensible suggestion. Writing it all down makes it a little easier to way up the pros and cons. Definitely! Could not agree with you more! That sounds like a huge decision, I’m pleased it’s one that you don’t regret 🙂

Leave a Reply

