Mindfulness & Me #3

Today I bring news and wisdom. The news is from me and the wisdom is from Becca, who is a lovely blogger that I have recently come across. Becca is currently running a Mental Illness Tag – you can find my answers to her questions here – and she kindly agreed to participate in this in return. Becca is also blogging about mental health every Monday this month, so if you haven’t already, please head over and give her blog a read. You won’t regret it! 🙂

First the news, I have decided to extend my question list for the Mindfulness & Me series, from three to five questions. Becca shall be the first to answer all five questions. Sorry to those that have gone before, and I have limited it to just three questions. If you’d like to answer the two new questions too, please just drop me an email or comment below and I shall update your entry.

Over to Becca and her wisdom. Please look out for her reply to question 4…

  1. What is your biggest regret?

My biggest regret is letting my anxiety get so bad before I confronted it. I waited until it had completely taken over my life, destroyed my relationships and forced me into a deep depression, all because I was telling myself that I was being stupid, that I’d snap out of it. I truly believe that if I’d gone to seek help sooner, it would never have got to the point where it was when it was at its worst.

  1. What decision are you most pleased you made?

Decisions are so difficult that any of them that I manage to make are great! I would say though that it would be the decision to tell someone. I felt better instantly and felt that there was a way through this, which I hadn’t felt for a long time.

  1. If you were to give someone in your position one piece of advice, what would it be? What is your most valuable life lesson?

I would tell them to open up to someone, anyone. If you have family members you can trust, friends you can rely on or even if it’s an email to the Samaritans (this is a service in the UK, I have no idea if there’s an equivalent in the US, sorry!). That was the first time that I had ever put how I was feeling in to words and it gave me the confidence to talk to someone. I have two valuable life lessons that I couldn’t choose between; the first of these is that if someone’s worth knowing they will listen to you and be understanding, they will not judge you for being honest with them. The other is to be proactive, I spent so long not doing anything about the way I was feeling and it really took its toll on me. “If you spend your whole life watching, you’ll watch your life pass you by.”

  1. What has been your biggest mistake, and what lessons has it taught you?

My biggest mistake has been being too harsh on myself, I’ve always been a perfectionist and one of those people that compares myself to others. It has taught me to never compare myself to anyone else, I am my own person and I should be proud of my accomplishments. If you’re constantly comparing yourself to other people I think you’ll find it very difficult to be happy. Honestly, this is something that I struggle with daily but at least I’ve now identified it and I’m working on it!

  1. What quality do you most admire in yourself?

This question is really tough for me! I had to think long and hard about this but I think that the quality I admire most in myself is that I’m always willing to listen. Whether that’s my friends telling me their life’s problems or discussing people’s mental health. I may not always give the best advice but I’m always happy to listen and try my best!

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Becca for taking part in this, and for agreeing to share her pearls of wisdom. Questions like these can be a little tricky, but I hope they are useful to answer in our recovery.

If Becca’s answers have inspired you to take part, you can find the original Mindfulness & Me post here, with a little more info. Could any responses to the 5 questions please be emailed to mindfulnessandme@gmail.com. It’d be great to hear from you!

  1. What is your biggest regret?
  2. What decision are you most pleased you made?
  3. If you were to give someone in your position one piece of advice, what would it be? What is your most valuable life lesson?
  4. What has been your biggest mistake, and what lessons has it taught you?
  5. What quality do you most admire in yourself?

Thank you all so much for reading. I hope you have a lovely day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

