Mindfulness & Me #2

on

Today, it is with great pleasure that I can introduce a second instalment of my Mindfulness & Me project. Without further ado, I’d like to introduce Jess. I’ve attached a link ,so that if you haven’t already, you can head on over to her wonderful blog. Its honesty and openness is admirable, and something that we could all learn from!

   1. What is your biggest regret?

My biggest regret is being a terrible friend to some people I really valued. This was when I was younger, I didn’t fully understand the extent to which my mental illnesses were affecting my day to day life, and was in denial about being ill at all. I had the best group of friends I have ever had at that time, and I ended up pushing them away out of fear. I didn’t want to confront my feelings, so I did everything I could to repress them, including, aside from self harm, cutting off the friends who cared about me the most, and were trying to get me to open up to them. I think if I had let them they could have really helped me, and we might still be friends now.

2. What decision are you most pleased you made?

The decision I am most pleased I made was the decision to drop out of university. It was very fraught at times, and my mental health was at its lowest in the months that followed, but in the long run it has made my life so much better, and given me the chance to work on myself and discover new things about myself. I will never forget the feeling of elation I felt when my parents came to pick me up and we drove away from the university. I was so happy, and that’s when I knew I’d made the right decision.

3. If you were to give someone in your position one piece of advice, what would it be? What is your most valuable life lesson?

If you want to be truly compassionate, then you need to extend your compassion to yourself. Don’t do things that will harm yourself, be it a physical attempt to hurt yourself, or sacrificing your happiness or wellbeing for someone else.

I’d like to say a huge, huge thank you to Jess for taking part. It isn’t always easy to go over past trauma, but sometimes we must learn the lessons of our past mistakes, before we can move on with our future.

If you’d like to read more about this little project I’ve started, here’s a link to the original post. It’d be great to hear from you, we’ve all got some wisdom to share. And once again, this wouldn’t be possible without willing participants, so thank you to all those who shall take part!

I hope you all have a lovely day! The weather has finally brightened up by me this week. It feels like summer is finally here! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lusuna says:

    So cool to see this posted. I’m glad I could be a part of this project 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you so for participating, as I’ve said before, you gave some wonderful answers! Sorry it took so long for me to post btw. Take care 🙂

      1. Lusuna says:

        no need to apologise 🙂 you take care too

  2. This is great advice from Jess!

  3. Lusuna says:

    Reblogged this on Lusuna and commented:
    Matt over on “In Silence We Suffer” is creating this cool project called “Mindfulness & Me,” and today he posted my answers. If you haven’t already, go and have a look at his blog, as he writes some really thought provoking stuff. You can also find out how to contribute to the project, something I would highly encourage.

Leave a Reply

