One day at a time

on

I have been struggling a little this past week. I’ve found it difficult to process everything that’s going on in my life. There are a lot of thoughts in my head; it’s difficult to understand them all.

I feel like there’s a lot that I need to do, but there’s not enough time in which to do it. My to-do list grows each and every day.

I guess there are moments throughout the week where we all feel slightly overwhelmed. We allow ourselves to become consumed by all that we’ve got to do, we expend so much effort and yet we feel like we’ve made no progress. As soon as we can cross one thing off the list, another two will take its place.

It is at times like these that we must learn to evaluate all the options that are open to us, and then to prioritise those that are the most important to us in that moment. Time is my most valuable asset, I don’t like wasting it.

If we do just that, if we take life day by day, looking after the present then the future will take care of itself. Yes, the future can be scary. It’s natural to sometimes be apprehensive about it, but we can’t always plan our life out and then live it.

As a much wiser man than me once said: “The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time.”

24 Comments Add yours

  1. I hope you feel better soon! I just wrote a post on my blog called the ‘mental illness tag’, I’m trying to help people understand and have an insight into what it’s like to have a mental illness, would be great if you did it!

    https://beccadoeslifethings.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/mental-illness-tag/

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you Becca! 🙂 I’ve just checked it out and it’s a wonderful idea, it’s my belief that we will only end stigma and increase understanding by talking about how we feel. You’re right, if they haven’t experienced mental illness first hand, there’s no reason for them to be able to empathise with us. I’ll definitely give it a shot some time soon! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      1. I completely agree 🙂 Thank you so much, I can’t wait to read it!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        You’re welcome, I’ll let you know when I’ve done it! Btw, I’ve just started a little project and I was wondering whether you’d be interested in taking part? Here’s a link if you fancy giving it a read through, it would be great to hear from you! 🙂 https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/mindfulness-me/

      3. Can’t wait to read it! I’ll definitely check it out, thanks for letting me know about it! 🙂

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you! It’s a pleasure! Take care 🙂

  2. Every task is made up of a bunch of small tasks. Like you said, after you prioritize you just have to take one step.. Great Advice 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Breaking things down into tiny steps is the best way to make progress. Thank you! 🙂

      1. You’re welcome.

  3. Kristina Cox says:

    I love this! Especially the last quote at the end!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! As soon as I read it, I knew that I had to share it with you guys! 🙂

  4. I think we can all relate to this post! Really doesn’t seem like there is enough time in one day to get it all done! Not holding ourselves to such high standards and setting realistic goals from day-to-day should eliminate unnecessary pressures. Look at it this way, at least you do have things to do! Some people having no life and nothing to do. No outlook or goals at all. I think that is really sad. You have an advantage! Feel better in mind, body and spirit.☺️

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I like that way of thinking!! It reminds me of all those times when I’ve been bored as I’ve had nothing to do, thank you for taking the time to comment! 🙂

  5. Hey Matt! Boy, do I understand the feeling of being overwhelmed. That’s how I’ve felt these past few weeks, too (though of course our feelings/experiences are unique). We are in a stage of life that requires much self-reflection and perseverance. I admire your ability to look at the silver lining in each of your posts. I love that quote about the future coming one day at a time!! Who said that? Peace my friend ☮

    1. M_McKeen says:

      According to Google it was Abraham Lincoln, though I could be mistaken. Thank you, it’s something that I really try to do in every post! 🙂 Thats a very true point, I’m still learning a lot about the world I live in, each and every day. How’ve you been?

      1. Oh boy haha, I’ve been a bit up and down these last few weeks. I’m switching jobs, which has me all topsy turvy. Definitely been struggling with my mood, and I haven’t been able to blog as much as I’d like. But times like these can be creative times in other ways, so that’s good. This coming week should be easier. How are you doing?

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I’m glad to hear that this week should be a little easier for you, it’d be great to see you blogging more! I really enjoy reading what you have to say!! The job switch going ok?

      3. Well I start my new one Tuesday, so I guess we’ll see! But I always have increased anxiety etc during a transition. Do you find that to be true too? The feeling’s definitely mutual, I really enjoy reading what you have to say as well!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Good luck! What is that you’ll be doing? Yes I do, it’s something that I struggle with all the time. I think that it can sometimes be referred to as being “intolerant of uncertainty.” Thank you, that’s so lovely to hear! 🙂

      5. M_McKeen says:

        I’m doing ok thanks, much better than I was a week or two ago! 🙂

      6. Really glad to hear that! Did circumstances improve or did you find a technique or new perspective that helped you feel better? Or both?

      7. M_McKeen says:

        It was a bit of both actually! I think the black clouds have parted for now, I found the quote very useful too. Sometimes we need to forget about all our future worries and focus on the here and now instead!

  6. iamcayenne says:

    I guess there are moments throughout the week where we all feel slightly overwhelmed……for me i have this feeling my WHOLE LIFE! And it makes me wonder- if i feel this way as a single young woman can i ever handle marriage and kids?! It frightens me

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I think we’ve all still got a lot to learn about this complex place! With each year that passes we grow and learn the lessons of life, I don’t think we can ever be prepared for every eventuality that life may throw at us. But we’ll give it our best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

