Power cut

During the course of last week I had a power cut. I’m not sure what caused it, but I guess you never are with these sorts of things.

I was without energy. Consequently, I was out of sync with my usual day to day. It was harder than it should have been. My days were lifeless and lacked meaning. I didn’t know what to do. I had no power. I even had to write this on paper before typing it up! But it shows that there are ways round the obstacles life puts in front of us. Sometimes we just need to make it through the tough days no matter what.

One positive that I learned from my power cut was the importance of perspective. Sure, I don’t like power cuts, but a life without them would be a worse one. They act as a reminder that we cannot put too much importance on a single aspect of our life. We must appreciate everything that we have today, because there is no guarantee that it’ll still be here tomorrow.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I love how to take simple things and make them into amazing lessons! That’s a great quality to have!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks B, I just try to write about experiences that everyone can relate to. If we breakdown everything that goes on in our lives there are always positives and lessons to be learned. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a good metaphor, depression (if that’s how you identify it) being like a power outage. That’s totally how it feels. I’m glad you felt comfortable to share your experience. It’s true that they help put your life in perspective. My own “power cuts” have helped me prioritize the things in my life that make me want to get out of bed in the morning. I hope you find that you are able to find those things in life that keep you motivated, but also be gentle with yourself if you have a power cut now and then.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! Reading other people’s experiences with depression has helped me in my struggle with it, I thought I’d return the favour. That’s exactly how I feel. It’s easy to focus on the negatives, but they really help me to focus on what I really want to do and where I want to be. Thanks, I hope you’re doing ok?

      1. Getting better and better πŸ™‚ Life goes in cycles, that’s for sure. I think we have to be honest and acknowledge the negative, but at the same time think about the positive. We (myself especially) sometimes forget that we can feel positive AND negative emotions at the same time! 😳

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s just easy to forget that when we’re going through a rough couple of days. The bad days don’t last for ever! πŸ™‚

      3. How’ve you been doing since your “power cut”?

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Haha well the funny thing is I did actually have a power cut the other week, it was my inspiration for writing this! But I’ve been slightly better this week thanks. I think I was just letting everything get on top of me, the list of things I wanted to do was long and I let that bother me. I’m back to trying to prioritise everything I’ve got to do, which has helped enormously. So has a few days off from work. Just taking it slow. Thanks for asking! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

