Legacy

There are things that we all have in common. Every single one of us wants to be remembered. It gives our life a purpose – even on the darkest of days.

We strive to achieve acclaim and awards whether that is through writing, acting, music, sports or politics. We all want our life to mean something. To be able to look back on a full life and say to our grandchildren, “Sure life can be difficult sometimes, but live it to its fullest and it’s all worth it.”

Recently I asked myself the question: who would realise if I didn’t leave my house for a day, or two, maybe even a week? The honest answer can be quite upsetting, but not if I can now use it as an agent of change.

At the end of the day, the saddest truth of life is who will remember us when we’re gone? A few friends and family that we’ve left behind, but not the common man in the street. That’s why so many of us take on too much. We are constantly trying to help others in an effort to combat our fear of not being remembered.

What will be your legacy?

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Someone asked YOU this? I’m so sorry! I’m hoping that my legacy will be that I got through my anxiety and became a professional author! I hope that I’m remembered for overcoming my obstacles, for helping others, and for being talented. I think you’ll be remembered for helping others for sure!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Yeah kinda. They didn’t expect me to answer it, but they just wanted me to think about it. It’s alright, but thanks for your concern. I definitely think yours will be! You have helped me hugely! Thank you B, I hope so too! 🙂

      1. Thanks! Still, that was kind of harsh for them to say…

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Yeah I suppose you’re right. I don’t think they were trying to be mean or anything though.

  2. Funny, I had a conversation today about passing down heirlooms and memories as you get older. Having people in your life who are there for you, and will remember you, is so important. And yet so many people don’t have that experience. I’ve heard stories of sick and elderly people whose family forgets about them, or whose friends don’t visit. I guess it’s just a reminder to think about who will carry on your legacy, and whose legacy you can help carry on, too.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Yes I’ve heard stories like that too. It’s so incredibly sad. That’s a good point. I like the sound of trying to help others carry out their own legacy. It sounds very fulfilling.

  3. I think its one of the most basic human needs to have someone wonder where we are if we don’t come home at night.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I think you could be right about that.

  4. Gabriela says:

    I really like your ending statement(along with the whole post). A very poetically put truth!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you, that is such a lovely comment! 🙂 I just try to write from experience, and sometimes I get lucky!

  5. anantisocialsocial says:

    I ask myself the same sometimes. Who would even notice if and when I am gone? I guess, deep down, all of us are scared of oblivian even though some of us deny it.
    This is very well written. 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I think that if we stopped to think about it we are all scared. But fear isn’t anything to worry about, it’s how we react in its presence that really counts. Thank you very much, that’s always lovely to hear! 🙂

  6. anantisocialsocial says:

    Indeed.
    You’re welcome. Have a good day 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you, the same to you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

