Alcohol & Me

on

Today I thought I’d share with you a little revelation. I have never drunk alcohol. Not a single drop. No beer. No cider. No shots. No wine. Nothing.

Now that’s not something you usually here from a 20year old is it? But I’m alright with that. I’m not fussed. That’s not a problem for me. The problems come only when people ask me why.

I’m stumped. I don’t know what to say. The truth? I’m not so sure. I know that I’m an advocate for speaking honesty and openly, but I just can’t on this.

You see, the truth is that I’m a little scared of what it might do to me. Every week we read reports on the effects of drinking, alcoholism and suicides. I can see how some people change after a drink and I don’t wantย to be like that. So I refrain from it completely.

I’ve got an addictive personality. Once my mind decides upon an idea I am obsessed with that very thought for days at a time. Everyday I am fighting for control. I fear that if I were to drink I would one day lose that battle.

Ifย there are any other teetotallers out there reading this I’d love to hear your stories! Perhaps we could go out for a drink one day? ๐Ÿ˜‰

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey Matt! I can TOTALLY relate to this post. I’ve never drank alcohol either, not even a sip of wine. Honestly, I just have no desire to. When I was younger, I was curious what a margarita tasted like (so I guess if I ever tried anything, that would be it), but I really couldn’t care less about never drinking alcohol.

    I think, like you, I’m a little afraid of drinking it too. You hear so many stories about people getting drunk and doing stupid or dangerous things. I don’t think that’s my only reason for not drinking though, because I know you can drink without getting drunk.

    I also don’t drink alcohol because with the medication I’m on, I’m not supposed to. However, like I said, the real reason is because I just have no desire to. I must say that I’ve never been at a restaurant and been like, “Wow, I’d really like to try that alcoholic beverage”, I just don’t have the interest.

    I think it’s fine that we don’t drink. In fact, I don’t think it’s anything to be embarrassed about.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I’d agree with you. I don’t think we need to be embarrassed by it. Lots of people don’t drink these days. I don’t have much interest in it either.

  2. I didn’t start drinking until I was twenty one. I had a few that year but nothing serious. I started actually social drinking around twenty four. You’re not really missing much. Alcohol is expensive haha

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Haha as my friends keep telling me! But they make soft drinks so expensive too nowadays! :/

  3. I don’t really drink that much. I’ve never been drunk. I look a lot younger than I am so I couldn’t go out drinking with everyone when we were 17. Plus, my dad wouldn’t let me go out.
    Another reason is that my mum used to drink a lot and I ended up looking after her after my dad left us.
    I get a bit of pressure to drink if I go out with work but my friends don’t really drink a lot anymore. At the age of 30, I think the novelty has worn off.
    It’s a personal choice!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I can understand why it doesn’t really appeal to you. Haha yeah I guess you indulge excessively on it as soon as you’re legally allowed to. And that’s the way it should! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lusuna says:

    I can totally relate to this. I am also a little worried about how alcohol affects my mood and what I might do if I’m drunk. I rarely drink, only really when I feel pressured socially, and when I do I have to be careful as if I feel even a little bit anxious or low it can spiral pretty quickly (and I end up crying uncontrollably or something equally fun), I’m also very wary of drunk people, and I think that has put me off. It makes me very nervous being around drunk people, but I’m not sure whether that is to do with social anxiety or something else. Anyway, this post made me think, may have to write one about alcohol myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I’m pleased to hear that. I’d love to read it! I think it’s important that we are aware of the effects of alcohol on us. We don’t necessarily have to stop drinking it, but being aware of it is a good place to start! I hope you don’t feel pressured into it. Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. carlalouise89 says:

    I’ve definitely drunk all types of alcohol. I’ve definitely been drunk before.
    But you know what? (Note: now, I’m allergic to most alcohols, but not the point.) I don’t actually like the taste of pretty much every alcohol in existence. I hate it. The only thing I like is SOME champagne (not all, I hate anything sweet) and SOME red wine (again, can’t be sweet). And I don’t remember the last time I got drunk. I hate getting drunk. I don’t find it fun.
    My point is, I really don’t think you’re missing much! Alcohol is not, and has never been, my thing. The only time it was was when I felt like it ‘had to be’ (like something was wrong with me because all my friends loved drinking and getting drunk). I got over that phase really quickly.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Yeah I’ve heard that a lot!! Loads of my friends don’t like the taste of some beers but yet they still drink it if there’s no other alcohol available. I don’t understand that! Ha yeah I don’t think I’ve ever been through it! Anyways I’m glad that you know where you stand with drinking and thank you for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Gemma says:

    I haven’t drunk alcohol since April 2015. Before then, I was a social drinker. I didn’t really drink much but I have drank all kinds of alcohol and experienced being drunk. I can honestly say that I am glad that I don’t drink. Alcohol just heightens my anxiety and depression x

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I fear that it’ll do the same to me. Thanks for sharing x

  7. Good for you! You are an excellent role model for other 20 year olds.

    I teach a course on Drugs, Alcohol, and Behaviour. The topic of “choosing not to drink” creates great debate. It’s important that college students realize that there is another option to drinking with their peers.

    College students have the highest rate of binge drinking in North America. Which is why I open up a discussion every semester where non-drinkers share the pressure they feel to drink. This open sharing creates a better understanding from the drinkers – to back off and give the non-drinkers the space to make their own choices. Mutual Respect is the end goal.

    I also share with my students (and you) that I made the choice to stop drinking 11 years ago. Setting a good example for my students is my number one priority. (Students see. Students do.)

    Keep sharing your story! You inspire us all! ๐ŸŒŸ

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you, that is so lovely of you to say! I couldn’t agree more, all too often so many people don’t realise that there isn’t another option. People just get dragged along with everyone else even if they don’t want to. The work you’re doing is so important! And congratulations that is an amazing achievement! I also think it’s important to lead by example and to practice what we preach. Thank you and good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Pingback: Teetotal | Lusuna
    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks for the mention! I’m so pleased that I helped you question your relationship with alcohol. It’s always good to be aware. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I used to drink before I got sick, but never excessively. I am really small in person, so my tolerance is weak. But, alcohol gave me a range of other problems like reflux oesophagitus. My last drink was in 2014, midyear about a week before I caught Shingles. I haven’t had a drink since and I don’t miss it. On Easter I was craving the taste of beer so I just had enough to wet my tongue, and it was awful. I am quite happy without it. All of my friends drink, my family too. My friends moreso, and excessively. But it’s never really interested me and hangovers are not fun. Good on you for sticking by this. Your body will thank you for it xxxx

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Cass, it is stories like this one that encourage me to keep clear of it! I’ve never had much interest in it, but I know how some people drink excessively even though they don’t like the taste. I guess it’s easy to become reliant on it! I’m glad you have taken this stance, my post wasn’t supposed to stop people from drinking, just simply to realise that it’s healthy to be aware of our relationship with alcohol. Awareness is half the battle. I hope that this continues for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

