I’ll be alright

Illness. Injury. Tragic accident. We all tell ourselves “I’ll be alright. It won’t happen to me.”

But the stats don’t always seem to back that up.

  • Globally more than 350million people of all ages suffer from depression.
  • 1 in 10 people will suffer from a mental health illness at some point in their lives.
  • More than 20million people in the United States suffer from depression at any given time.
  • As many as 15% of those who suffer from some form of depression take their lives each year.
  • 90% of people who die through suicide in the UK are experiencing mental distress.
  • Severe anxiety affects roughly 20% of people over the course of their lifetime.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t think “I’ll be alright.” It is at the end of the day one of the few ways to deal with it. If we only saw the negativity in this world we’d be afraid to leave the house.

After all, how can we live a happy life if we are consumed by fear? I know from experience that it is impossible.

We shouldn’t con ourselves into believing a fictitious lie. That somehow we will be saved from suffering.

We all have bad days, sometimes they last for weeks, months or maybe even years. We all suffer from times of insecurity, times of grief and times of illness. It’s important to remember that.

But it’s our response to obstacles and challenges that define us. So we need to prepare ourselves for the dark times ahead, because they are coming.

Sorry if this post seems quite dark. That wasn’t my intention. I had hoped to convey more of a message that it’s important to use our experiences to prepare ourselves for what lies ahead. I hope that this can serve as a reminder that life isn’t always plain sailing.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a great post, Matt! I think it shows that while we should try our hardest to be positive, we should also realize that there will be bad days and that we’re not alone in our struggle. Also, it shows us that while we may be disappointed in ourselves when we don’t do as well with managing our mental health issues, that we shouldn’t beat ourselves up over it. Everyone struggles and no one is perfect.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks B, it’s so nice of you to comment! 🙂 That’s exactly what I was trying to get across, you’ve put it so much better than I did! That’s one thing I’ve found to be true since writing on here, I used to think that I was the only one.

      1. You’re definitely not the only one who struggles and I think it’s great that you’re spreading that message. It can be so much harder when you think that you’re alone in your struggle.

        For the record, you did a fine job of getting your point across!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Haha thanks, if you say so! 😉 Exactly, I’m always surprised by how much people can relate to how i have felt, but it helps so so much to know that they do. Having someone to talk to that understands me makes such a difference! 🙂

      3. Me too! Thanks for being one of those people for me! 🙂

      4. M_McKeen says:

        I’m so glad I can help, but I should be thanking you! I really do appreciate it 🙂

      5. You’re welcome but I really enjoy talking to you! 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! I hope you’re doing ok? 🙂

      1. I’m doing great!! Thanks for the well wishes.

  2. Your post itself isn’t dark at all–you are “casting a light” on a dark subject. What I think is the TRULY dark subject is how afraid we are globally of mental illness, and how we treat people around the world with mental illness. Mental illness is a problem, but the bigger problem is how people suffering from it are often treated. Statistics are an important wake up call. Thanks for sharing this.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I like that sound of that, thank you! Yes I completely agree with you. I think part of the problem is that we all fear what we don’t understand, but society doesn’t make much of an effort at the moment to understand mental illnesses, which just adds to the stigma and misconceptions.

  3. This hits me right now for obvious reasons xx great post

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you, i really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

