Given time

Let the clouds pour misery over you;

As I can see a blue sky breaking through…

 

Just as in winter a tree becomes cold,

Its branches bare, its beauty untold.

Given time new leaves will grow,

But, I warn you, progress may be slow.

 

Just as grass will turn to mud

Damaged, for now, by a flood.

Given time that grass will sprout anew.

Have patience, I know this to be true.

 

Just as the howling winds threaten a tree to fall,

But the strengths of her roots keep her standing tall.

Given time the raging storms will subside.

Don’t be uprooted, try to make it to the other side.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a GREAT poem! You’re such a great writer, Matt! šŸ™‚ Stay strong!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks BG that’s very kind of you to say! I really appreciate your comments! šŸ™‚

      1. No problem! I mean every one of them. I haven’t been writing as many poems lately, I feel a little blocked. :/ Then again, I’ve been working on my story, so maybe that’s why.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        šŸ™‚ Yeah I know the feeling! I wouldn’t stress about it though. Some days the words just flow more than others.

      3. Yeah, I agree. Honestly though, I like writing stories more and I’ve always wanted to write stories more than poetry, so if for a while I’m a little blocked when it comes to writing poems, I guess I’m okay with that. My stories going pretty well I think.

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Ive never really been into writing stories, but I hope yours continues to go well. I’d love to read it one day! šŸ™‚

      5. Thanks! šŸ™‚ I love writing poetry but I’ve always felt like my poetry isn’t deep enough, if that makes sense.

      6. M_McKeen says:

        Yeah I know what you mean, but I wouldn’t worry about that. Poetry is about expressing the emotions that you feel. It’s about being honest to what you experience and what you feel. Take no notice of people who criticise it for not being “deep”.

  2. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    Sometimes when things get difficult, it can be hard to believe in ourselves. However, with consistent hard work, we will get through our anxiety and over any other obstacles we may have.

    Matt is a wonderful writer! Please check out his great poem and amazing blog! šŸ™‚

  3. Miriam says:

    What a wonderful poem, full of contemplation and hope.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you Miriam! It’s so lovely of you to comment. I hope so, I try to write positively whenever I can. šŸ™‚

      1. Miriam says:

        It’s my pleasure. Writing definitely helps when we’re feeling down.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        It so does! Getting the thoughts down on paper allows us to move on.

Leave a Reply

