A fresh perspective

I think that my struggles with stress, anxiety and depression have made me a better person. I’m learning to see the world from other people’s perspectives. I’m able to empathise more.

We live in an age where face to face communication has become widely diminished. The majority of our conversations take place via text message or the like. We have lost the ability to put ourselves in someone else’s shoes; a phone screen doesn’t allow us to do that.

But illness has taught me the importance of acknowledging, accepting and understanding my emotions. If we make more of an effort to understand our own emotions then it should be easier to understand the feelings of others. In some ways, I’m actually grateful for living with these illnesses.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. bagofnerveslady says:

    Great post! I completely agree. Some of the aspects of my own personality that I am most proud of stem from suffering with mental illnesses. Without meaning to blow my own trumpet, I am very self-aware, empathetic and emotionally intelligent. I value those things about myself and believe it makes me a better person. It’s nice that something good can come out of all this, hey? 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I think that it’s important to think like that. It’s all too easy to get absorbed in the negatives of a situation, but as they say, every cloud has a silver lining. I’m pleased that you can see this too! I find that it makes what I’m dealing with just a little bit easier, how about you?

      1. bagofnerveslady says:

        Yeah totally. I’m not sure I’d want to give up self-awareness and empathy even if it meant I felt better because I think people who lack those qualities can be a little ignorant. Mental illness means you’re really able to relate to other people and consider the thoughts behind actions. We don’t take everything at face value.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I feel the same way. Because of my troubles with illness I have become so much more empathetic towards other people. One thing that I’ve learned is that no one has it easy.

  2. This is a great post Matt! You’re definitely an empathetic and kind person! You make an effort to understand others and you’re always there to listen. Thank you so much for that. Never doubt the power of your words and kindness!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks B! That’s really kind of you to say! 🙂 and I could say the same to you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

