Just say something

Sometimes we don’t know what to say so we say nothing. We all do it. After hearing some bad news like a passing of a friend’s relative or perhaps when that very same friend opens up to you for the first time and confides in you the emotions that have been weighing them down. We try to change the conversation, anything to remove the awkwardness. But it’s futile because you can’t unsay a word once it’s been spoken. We try to forget. To move on. To pretend that it never happened. To airbrush the event from history, but yet it still remains.

Our reasoning is built on the commonly mis-held belief that if we don’t say anything then we can’t say anything wrong. But we don’t realise the deeper impact our silence can make. Remaining silent allows the sufferer to think that they were right and that in fact no one does care about them. To put it simply, we fail to acknowledge the existence of the issue and the importance of our friend’s emotions.

We rely on our friends to be there for us when the world is against us, to lend a supportive ear that allows us to express our innermost feelings. So we need to be there for them to. It’s better to say something than nothing at all. Show that you care, don’t let them fall. 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a great post, Matt, and absolutely true. Even if we may not totally know what to say, we need to show that we’re there for one another. After all, that’s what friendship is for. Not to mention, we all struggle, and all need a helping hand. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks B.G. for such a lovely comment! It’s not always easy but it’s something I think we should try to do 🙂

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    This is great! And so true!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks for the compliment and reblog Carla! 🙂 I realise that I’ve done it in the past too, I’ve remained silent instead of supporting my friends, but I’m trying to change that!

      1. carlalouise89 says:

        Me too!! I’ve done it before, too, and I want to change it. I think it’s a great blog!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Hi Carla, just thought I’d let you know that I’ve nominated you for an award! You can check it out here https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/liebster-award/ 🙂

      3. carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you so much!!!! ☺

  3. This post resonates deeply with me. I wrote something related to this a while ago.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you reading this post. It means a lot to me. I’ll try to use it as a reminder to be more supportive of my friends in the future rather than allowing them to suffer in silence. Would I be able to read it?

  4. myzania says:

    Reblogged this on myzania and commented:
    A very important thing.

Leave a Reply

