Learning to Prioritise

For the past few days I have felt somewhat overwhelmed. I’ve felt like I’ve had so much to do. There were just not enough hours in the day for me to achieve everything I wanted to. I became more and more stressed as the hours remaining in the day slowly started to diminish. My anxiety spiralled too. But I am controlling it now.

There’s no point trying to split my efforts across a number of tasks. I’d much rather focus onΒ one task at a time, knowing that I have completed each to the best of my ability. I don’t want to stretch myself too thin.

Nevertheless, I still feel like there’s a lot that I need to do. That I’m constantly pushed for time. That I’m in a rush. ButΒ  I’ve realised that sometimes we have to slow down in order to get to where we want to be.

We must learn to prioritise the essentials; to take one task at a time and to fully immerse ourselves in it. If something doesn’t get done today, I’ll pop it at the top of tomorrow’s to-do list.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I like the one task at a time method as well.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I just feel that it makes sense to give something your complete attention. But maybe it’s me, I’m not very good at multitasking!

      1. I’m decent at multitasking but I still prefer to do things individually. I think it makes sense as well!!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Hey, just thought I’d comment to let you know that I’ve nominated you for an award! You can check it out here https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/dragons-loyalty-award-2/ πŸ™‚

      3. You are so sweet, thank you!!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Here’s another, if you fancy a question or two! πŸ˜‰ You can check it out here https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/liebster-award/ πŸ™‚

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m trying to do the same!!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      It’s such a good way to deal with everyday stress. How are you getting on with it?

      1. carlalouise89 says:

        Slowly. Today was my first day back at work, and the whole idea was very panic-inducing. It reminded me of everything that happened before. I woke up early – thanks to my dog (Rosie, she’s so cute) – and I started panicking, but then I calmed myself down. I actually saw your blog, at that moment, and I was like, “This is what I need to do. Focus on today. Focus on today’s tasks. We’re up early; so all that means is we have a longer breakfast, and watch a little TV to calm down.” And so far, with some anxiety, it’s working. How about you?

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I’m so pleased that my post was able to help you! πŸ™‚ It sounds like you managed to keep on top of your anxiety. Did work go well? I was ok in the end thanks, I think the trick is to just focus on making small steps. It’s easy to get overwhelmed by the big picture.

      3. carlalouise89 says:

        I think so; I’m finding it a little hard because of the memories of before. But this new place seems nice, and everyone there seems nice. I guess it’s just one of those things, isn’t it? You’re anxious until you’re not, really? But your post really did help me. And it’s what I’m going to keep doing, too, because I need to break it down. It’s the only way I’ll be able to cope πŸ™‚ Keep up the excellent writing!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        I think you’re right. It’s only natural, when something has affected you so much in the past it’s natural to be apprehensive about putting yourself in a similar situation. Thank you, that’s really kind of you to say, I really do appreciate it! It means the world to know that your writing can have such a positive effect on other people πŸ™‚ You too!

      5. carlalouise89 says:

        I’m glad!! I think you’re doing a great job! And I’ve actually heard good things about your blog from other bloggers … so that means you’re making a mark!

      6. M_McKeen says:

        Ahh that’s sooo nice to hear! That’s really made my day!! Thank you πŸ™‚ Take care!

Leave a Reply

