The Truth

Today I have decided to repost part of an old poem of mine, as I feel it’s message still rings true. I hope you enjoy! What do you think?

 

The truth will always see the day,

My deepest secrets will be confessed;

No matter how much I pray,

My greatest fears will be addressed.

 

Every truth and every blemish

Make us who we are deep down,

And these we must learn to cherish,

Before we’re buried in the ground.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. jadekmoore says:

    I love the message that this contains. One quote that always sticks with me is ‘The truth will out’ and that’s exactly what you touch on here. It may not mean a confession to some bad deed, or a terrible act but could be as simple as an acknowledgement of personal suffering. This makes me think of personal issues that we can deny exist, but then one day we will admit that they are real, and are affecting us, then we need to speak out about them and tell the truth. I hope I have got the right message from this poem. Thank you for posting it, I think it is a very accurate piece of writing. Where can I read the entire poem?

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks Jade that’s so lovely of you to say! That’s exactly the point I’m trying to get across, that sometimes it is simply better to be honest and tell the truth. I originally wrote it around about the time I was first diagnosed with anxiety and depression, I hadn’t told any of my friends about it at that point either. As you’ll be able to tell from the original post! So here’s the link. 🙂 https://insilencewesuffer.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/the-truth/ I am more pleased with the stanza that I have just quoted than the rest of the poem.

  2. It’s good! A little dark at the end, but good! Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is lovely! I especially like “No matter how much I pray / My greatest fears will be addressed.” We cannot avoid our greatest fears, but we can overcome them.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I wrote the poem because I was trying to encourage myself to accept the truth. I didn’t want to fight against it any longer. Honesty is a very powerful and respectable trait.

  4. So please let me know, if you already got a message about this (I’m not sure how it totally works), but I nominated you for the following award!

    https://gettingthroughanxiety.wordpress.com/2016/01/16/the-dragons-loyalty-award-2/

    1. M_McKeen says:

      No I hadn’t received anything, so thanks for letting me know! And for nominating me too! 🙂

      1. You’re welcome! You deserve it! 🙂

  5. LyfWithEm says:

    Your writing is amazing, as with this poem. We can’t avoid our fears, our secrets or our faults, but we CAN learn to live with them and be happy 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! 🙂 That’s exactly the lesson that I’m trying to convey. We only fear what we don’t understand, so if we make an effort to understand then there’s less to be afraid of. I don’t think I explained that very well?!

Leave a Reply

