New Year’s Resolutions

I know that this is a few days late, but with it still being early January I thought I’d share with you some of my New Year’s Resolutions. Here are some of the things that I’d like to achieve this year.

  • First of all I’d like to continue to blog. I did not write as often as I’d have liked in 2015. My aim for this year is to write a meaningful, thoughtful and positive post at least once a week. I’d like to write more poetry too, but I don’t want to force myself.
  • To not hide from my emotions, but to embrace them, understand them and learn from them. Too often I lock my thoughts away, trying to hide them from view, but sometimes you have to meet the devil in order to learn his name.
  • I often allow a bad day to stretch into a bad couple of days, and sometimes even into a bad week. This year I hope to view each and every single day as a singularity, entirely separate from the day that precedes it as well as the one that follows.
  • To find more time to reflect constructively on the things going on in my life as well as in my head. I’d like to practice mindfulness. To take some time out, a quiet thirty minutes every day, where I can reboot mentally and emotionally.
  • To not live in isolation. There is no reason to be lonely. I have numerous friends who are only a text message away. And so do you. People who care how we feel, and respect our honesty. As they say, a problem shared is a problem halved. I do not want to live in silence, and I encourage you to choose not to either.

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, my goals tend to be based on my mental health. That’s the focus for this year. Towards the end of 2015 I started to make progress in relation to my struggles with anxiety, stress and depression. Blogging has been a great help to me, and I’ve met so many wonderful people who inspire me to keep going when things get tough. Consequently, I’ve learned to shift my attention away from materialistic obsessions, and instead to focus my mind on the well-being of the people in my life including you! I hope this year I can help.

All the best!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Best of luck!! πŸ™‚

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ wishing you the best in achieving yours this year too!

  2. I think your resolution about not turning one bad day into more than that is really important. I can relate because a lot of times I seem to hold onto my negative experiences with anxiety. Please know that you are an inspiration to many and good luck with your goals!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      It’s something I’ve struggled with too. I don’t know why, but we have a tendency to remember the very worst and the very best times. Unfortunately the worst times tend to feel like whole weeks whilst the best times feel more like moments! Thank you, all the best in 2016!

  3. I agree with gettingthroughanxiety, I really like your resolution to not let a bad day drag on, if you can. I think a bad day once in a while is inevitable, and sometimes you need to let yourself have a bad day or be in a bad mood, but we can “set a timer” on it and then get back to our “to do list!” I’m trying to practice this myself…these are great resolutions, how are they going so far?

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I like that! It’s a good idea, “setting a timer” πŸ™‚ I think I’m getting on ok with them so far thanks. How are you finding it? Do you have a resolutions?

      1. I’m going to try to spend as much time as I can outdoors this year. I get lazy and snuggle up in the house, but I got out for a walk in this park near my house today and it was awesome. So I made kind of a belated resolution today haha.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Haha it’s better to start late than not at all! I like that resolution, I think we all tend to stay inside way too often nowadays. Going for a walk is so great as long as the weathers ok!

Leave a Reply

