Name Change

Today I renamed my blog. I had been thinking about it for a while, and I thought with the turn of the new year that this is the perfect time to do it!

When I started blogging nearly two years ago it was primarily a way for me to vent my frustrations with the little things in life. I named it The Pebble In My Shoe. It was, first and foremost, a means of being creative. I did not know where it (or myself) were going. I was struggling at school, carrying a huge burden, but it was the small things that gradually wore me down. A lot has changed since then.

Looking back I don’t think I fully understood what I was dealing with. I’m better informed now, but I’ve still got lots to learn. I continue to suffer from anxiety, stress and depression, but I feel like I have a better grip on them now.

Anxiety and depression can make us all feel so incredibly alone, when in fact we’re not. Millions of people worldwide suffer from the same debilitating illnesses but we can’t always see that.

Blogging allows me to write without fear of judgement. The beauty of writing lies in its power; people of all ages, ethnic and cultural backgrounds, and of different religious beliefs all have the opportunity to be moved by the same words. I’ve had views and followers from all over the wold, and I can’t quite describe the feeling, knowing that a perfect stranger, whom I am likely to never meet, has read my words.

This community acts as a reminder that there is always someone out there who can relate to what we are suffering from. Talking to you and reading your stories provides some comfort, making what I am dealing with a little bit easier.

I have learned that there is nothing to hide. I now try to live my life with perspective. To appreciate the good days when they come around and to remember that the bad ones don’t last forever. Just because one day is bad doesn’t mean the next one will be too!

But perhaps the most important lesson that I’ve learned is to remember that no one is immune to criticism. Everyone feels the fragility of life.

On this blog I try to be constructive, to make a positive difference in both my life and in yours. If I can help just one person then I’ll be happy.

You are all incredibly courageous for having the strength to speak out about your illnesses with such honesty and to try and make a difference. I encourage you to continue doing just that. You may be surprised but someone will be able to relate on some level. Not everyone will understand, but be patient, you sure will be glad when you find someone who does. In Silence We Suffer.

I hope you enjoyed a great New Year, and wishing you all the best for the year ahead! I hope you all like the makeover, what do you think of the name change?

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I like the name change 🙂 I like what it stands for. I think that’s admirable.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you Carla! 🙂 I’m just trying to make a small positive difference in the world around me. Too often I keep my thoughts to myself, locked away, but how am I supposed to understand them if I don’t express them?!

      1. carlalouise89 says:

        Exactly!! And I think it’s so important that you do express them. I think it’s unhealthy not to express those feelings! And I think you are more likely

      2. carlalouise89 says:

        I think you are making a positive change! And I think keeping thoughts to yourself is unhealthy. I think you’re doing a great thing for a lot of people 🙂

      3. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you, these are very kind words! And they apply to you and your blog too! You speak out for those whose voices cannot be heard, even if it leads to abuse and criticism. I wish it didn’t have to be this way, but thank you for taking a stand, and trying to change outdated opinions!

  2. I think the name change is good. This post is so well written and inspirational. I couldn’t have said these things better myself. I too never expected to connect with so many people, but I have, including you. I’m so glad we “met” and for the record, you’ve at least made me happy so you have succeeded! I know that you’ve helped countless others as well!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! As I said, I try to make my writing constructive with a positive message, sometimes it works out well 🙂 A year or two ago when I started blogging, if someone had told me that I would have met so many amazing people online I wouldn’t have believed them, but it’s true! You are one such person, who inspires me, someone who is really trying to make a difference. You’ve really helped me as well, so thank you! My email is matt.mckeen@googlemail.com should you feel like you need someone to speak to!

      1. Thanks! I might just take you up on that. I’m happy to have been able to help you. You’ve inspired me as well!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I can’t quite believe it, but I’ve made a few friends on here. I find it easier to talk to someone who can understand why you feel the way that you do because they have felt exactly the same at some stage. We all take it in turns to help each other! Thank you 🙂

  3. You’re very welcome and thank you as well! Have a great day!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thanks to you too!

  4. Thank you for being real. It helps us to know that we are not alone in our challenges.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you. I try to write as honestly as I can, but it’s the strength of the others who write how they truly feel that remind me that I’m not alone either.

Leave a Reply

