Choosing not to be lonely

I often choose to be lonely. To keep things locked up away from my friends and family. Whether that’s to keep me safe or them, I don’t know. Sometimes I feel like a recluse.

Opening up to someone for the first time is extremely difficult. We wait and wait, then stall a little, until we can’t be delayed any longer. Our words leave our lips uncontrollably. We just need to speak to someone honestly in the hope that they’ll understand.

For me, loneliness is a choice. We choose to ignore a text until later. We choose to walk on by. We choose not to smile.

This can be a difficult time of year, but I encourage all of you (as well as myself) to choose not to be lonely this Christmas. Choose to reach out to someone you trust. Talk openly and honestly. Unveil the secrets that way you down.

The more time you have by yourself, the longer you spend going over the same thoughts in your head. What we fail to recognise, is that we are not the only ones to suffer with this. It’s always nice to have a second opinion. Show trust in someone, give them a chance to prove the worth of your friendship.

 

Sorry I feel this post is slightly muddled, but I hope this finds you well and you all have a great Christmas!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Merry Christmas Matt! This is a very uplifting and inspirational post! I’m happy you’ve decided not to be lonely! 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Merry Christmas to you too! 🙂 Thank you! The post was meant as a reminder that WE have the power to change what we don’t like! It’s all to easy to feel sorry for myself, but it gets to a point where I’ve got to change. Got to start making my way out of the shadows I’ve been hiding in. Thanks for reading! 🙂

      1. You’re welcome and thank YOU! I know it can be hard for me not to feel bad for myself because things can get so hard. However, I know that the best thing is to work harder!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        That’s right! In life we react to what goes on around us, but sometimes we need to be proactive to combat what we’re dealing with. To take the upper hand we must put in a lot of effort!

      3. Agreed! Again, I wish you all the best!

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Thanks and to you too. Have a great Christmas!

  2. NoDecaf_09 says:

    “We wait and wait, then stall a little, until we can’t be delayed any longer. Our words leave our lips uncontrollably.”

    Those words couldn’t be more true. And then after we vomit those words, we start to second guess if we should have said them to begin with or how they were received or if you jumped the gun on trusting that person with your thoughts, words, feelings.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      That’s so so true. It causes so much stress and anxiety, but I always feel it’s better for me to be as honest as I can be. That way I feel like I’m not at fault. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve made some mistakes in the past, but time ticks on. We just need to learn from them.

Leave a Reply

