The epically awesome award

Rules

  1. I know you are awesome, tell us why.
  2. You are my friends and tell us about others.
  3. Be creative. It’s alright if you can’t be.
  4. I give no questions to be fully answered, but let yourself go here.

 

Last Monday I was nominated by Carla Louise over at The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise for this award. She and her blog are both awesome; she stands up for other people, but more than anything she is a kind and caring person! I’d really recommend that you check it out. And thank you for the nomination!

Anyway, on to the award. Well, the thing is, this had been quite tough one for me, as I don’t think I’ve ever done anything that’s ‘epic’, nor have I been described as ‘awesome’ (let alone ‘epically awesome’!!). But I’ll press on, because I have to. That’s what I do. Every day. We can’t just submit to our doubts and doubters, we can’t just give in to our fears when things get tough. We have to keep going, to stay strong, and make it through these days – the bad days don’t last forever.

That’s the best I could come up with, I’m afraid. Through this blog and in every day life I try to stand up for those whose voices cannot be heard. And to remind them all that they are not weak, nor are they failures – no matter what their mind is telling them. They are incredibly courageous for having the strength to speak out about their illnesses and to try and make a difference.

As for who are my friends, well I like to think that I’ve got on well with pretty much everyone I’ve ever met. (Obviously some more than others). Inevitably, after leaving school, people drift away. But that’s life I suppose, they could quite easily come back in. I shall never forget how supportive my entire school year were when I told them about the depression and anxiety that I had been struggling with. They truly are awesome.

Right on to you fellow bloggers, this is the point where I’m supposed to nominate you for this award. However, I already know that many of you have received this award. Therefore do not feel the need to complete for the second time, but I’d still like to show my appreciation for some fantastic blogs and the people behind them.

Thanks for reading, I’ll leave you with something creative. These are the last few lines of a poem I wrote a while ago, entitled Tick Tock. (To read in full please click here.)

 

Once time has passed it’s lost forever,

Ties holding you back you must learn to sever.

From night to day,

From black to grey,

The beauty of tomorrow is that it’s not yesterday.

 

 

 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Thank you!!! You were so kind in your thank you! That was lovely! I’m so very glad you like my blog!! And congratulations – you deserve to be nominated!!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      You’re most welcome! I really do like reading your blog! Thank you 🙂

      1. carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you! And I love reading yours!

  2. Gemma says:

    Thanks Matt. I will get round to posting the awards you nominated me for. Hope you’re ok x

  3. Congratulations! Thanks for the nomination and I love your poem! 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! I love writing them, they’re such a good way to express how you feel. Though I haven’t written many recently, as I say, those lines are from an old one.

      1. You should write more! I’d love to read them! 🙂

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Thanks! 🙂 I’d like to, just need a bit of inspiration I think! Do you write them?

      3. Yeah, I write poetry. I’d like to be a fiction author one day, but I think poetry is actually a little easier to write at times. Though I’m not sure my poetry is always that great.

      4. M_McKeen says:

        Both can be challenging, I guess it depends on the day! I know the feeling, that’s why I hadn’t written much in a while. Nothing I could come up with felt any good. Think I’ve still got some of my old poems on here though.

  4. You should definitely try and write some! I always feel like mine aren’t deep enough. 😦

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I wouldn’t worry about that. I don’t think they need to be. Sometimes I make them too deep and confusing! I’d love to read some of yours 🙂

      1. Thanks! I just read your poem on Letters to the Mind. It was really good!

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Thank you 🙂 as I’ve said, that was the first one id written in a while!

  5. Gabriela says:

    Ahh so cool, thank you!! For some reason I didn’t get a notification of being linked(might be cause I just went to .org) but when I came to your page to read up, I saw my name under the post haha. Good timing 😉 I have really enjoyed reading about your journey and how honest you are. If you are ever interested, I would love to share some of your writing on my page for Inside Look. It is a series where I will be sharing others’ posts on mental health and feel a lot of my social media readers could really relate to what you share. Thank you for being awesome and thank you for the nomination! 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Haha thanks for stopping by! Not sure why you didn’t get a notification (though that’s happened to me before too) but we got there in the end! ahh thank you, that’s very kind of you to say! I’d love to contribute, I know how much of a comfort it can be reading about someone else’s journey. How best can I help? You’re very welcome, you have a great blog that is trying to make a difference! 🙂

  6. Gabriela says:

    Thank you! It’s funny cause at first I just started the page as a linked blog to PsychCenter where I write for work, but little did I realize there was a whole other community on WordPress. I had no idea, haha. So I figured I would keep it linked and keep sharing. I love how responsive everyone is to each others’ writings on here! I am so happy you’d be willing to participate. I plan to launch the series in the next weeks. It came to mind when I shared some of my posts on other social media, like facebook, and suddenly all of these people were coming out to say, “yes I suffer from that too!” Or “I really would love to hear a personal story of someone with that.” etc. So I know it would get a lot of love from not just wordpress but my work site and social media as well. I love helping others see we are all a lot more alike than we may think in those ways. If there is a specific post you feel connected to more that you’ve written or if you have one on here already that you wouldn’t mind me sharing, just let me know. Or feel free to email it to healinginwellness@gmail.com I can either add you as the author or keep it anonymous if you prefer. I understand it going across sites some folks prefer to keep it personal and not public. Either way will work! Thanks for being willing!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I know right! At first I was a little apprehensive about writing a blog, but everyone has only got kind words to say. They’re all so supportive! It really is a great idea! You’re right, we all suffer in silence as a result of our illnesses, but we don’t realise just how many other people out there suffer with the same things. I guess that’s the power of the Internet! I don’t mind. If there’s a particular post that you like feel free to share it? And I’m more than happy to have my name to it! 🙂

      1. Gabriela says:

        Even better, thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

