There’s nothing to hide

For sufferers of depression and anxiety it’s easy to feel ashamed. But we shouldn’t. Depression is an illness, an indiscriminate illness that does not care who it afflicts. 
But I ask you how are we supposed to recover when we hide the truth from those that know us best? 
There is nothing weak in admitting how you truly feel to someone. It takes great courage and strength to talk so openly. Nevertheless it’s something that we’re all capable of doing. 
It’s natural to fear what others might think or say. I still do. But they’ll be so incredibly proud of you for opening up and being so honest if you decide to do so. There’s nothing to hide. 
We’re not failures. We’re not weak. We are incredibly strong. We have to be in order to survive. 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a great post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    Matt from The Pebble in My Shoe shares the importance of speaking about our mental health issues. He also reminds us that we are strong and not weak. Please check out his great blog!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you. This is very kind of you. Hope you’re well!

  3. Dori Price says:

    For a long time I hid my depression because I was in the public’s eye. Sharing my faith with women but secretly feeling like a failure because I couldn’t shake the depression. Depression is menacing. Some days I’m filling with hope for the opportunity I have before me to live, and other days, I’m filled with despair over the perceived failures behind. Writing and sharing my story with people has become integral to my healing process. thanks for this note of encouragement. Our voices are the strongest together when we expose depression together. Humbly, Dori

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Sorry to read that you struggle with depression too. I’ve found writing a great help. And you’re right, we need to tackle depression and other mental health illnesses together. Some days will be ok, others not so good, but we’ll get there in the end! Thanks for the comment, I hope you’re ok? Take care

      1. Dori Price says:

        Yes, I am. No worries. I have bouts but I manage fairly well. Thanks so much for your feedback.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        That’s not a problem. Take courage from your strength to write about your struggles. I know how difficult talking about depression can be, but it’s an important factor in our recovery.

  4. This point has really moved me. I’m currently getting to grips with a career mess I created whilst in the depths of depression, and the mess came about because I felt like a failure but hid my depression from everyone, at work and at home. The black dog followed me around everywhere, but I didn’t know how to speak up and now I am suffering the consequences. Your words of wisdom are more right than you can ever imagine. Speaking out and sharing the hard times is the most important thing in the world.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I can really relate to this. At first I didn’t know who to speak to or what to say to them, but it got to a point where that didn’t matter, I just needed to tell anyone. That’s what I’ve found really helpful with this blog. Writing on here has really proven to me that there’s no need to feel alone. So many people all around the world have been where we are now. Sorry to read about your career problems, I hope they work themselves out soon. Take care.

  5. jadekmoore says:

    This is a lovely post to remind people that they are not alone, and that strength can come from the pain of depression. Little reminders like this can go a long way! I wondered whether you’d be interested in contributing to my new blog? It is a project called ‘Letters to the Mind’ and it gives the chance for people with mental health issues to write to their issue (e.g. anxiety, depression). If you, or anyone else on this post, would like to check it out and maybe contribute something then here’s the URL:

    letterstothemindblog.wordpress.com

    The aim is for this to give people a new perspective on their mental illness and for it to be used as a coping method for a different way of thinking.

    Thank you!

    1. M_McKeen says:

      This is a wonderful idea, and I’d love to contribute! I’ve had a look at the new blog and it looks amazing. Thank you for thinking of me! I think I might write a poem, I’ll let you know when it’s done. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Hope you’re well? Take care.

      1. jadekmoore says:

        I’m really pleased you will be contributing! Sure let me know when it’s done and make sure you send it to the email on the ‘how to contribute’ page. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

