Trusting ourself

I think we all know deep down what’s best for ourselves. What we need to do next just to survive through the day and make it on to the next one. But I don’t think we like listening to ourselves. Many of us still hide how we truly feel, so there’s always a confliction of thoughts that exist in our minds. 
The hardest advice to follow is always our own. Maybe we don’t trust ourselves to make the right decision? Depression robs us of our ability to see the balance in life. Depression is like a blindfold: it blocks out the light. Our minds, when we’re at our worst, only see the negative, anything positive is blocked out.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Omg, this is so me. I hide my feelings way to much, so now my head and my heart are so conflicted.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I think we all have a tendency to do just that, but to be honest it’s a conflict that we could all do without.

  2. I don’t personally think depression blindfolds us. I think we see just as clearly. But depression simply numbs us to what we see. It paralyzes the beautiful emotions that make us who we are. Am I make any sense?

    1. M_McKeen says:

      yes I understand what you’re saying, and I’d agree that depression can definitely numb our emotions. Sometimes I feel like I’m cut off from the world around me, as if I’m seeing things from behind a pane of glass

      1. I know exactly what you’re talking about. And I wish I could give you helpful advice, but I’m in the same place. Still helps knowing we’re not alone. 🙂

      2. M_McKeen says:

        I couldn’t agree more. Being able to talk to people who have experienced what we feel makes the world of difference. If you ever want to talk, I’m more than happy to listen!

      3. M_McKeen says:

        Hey, I’ve just nominated you for this. Here’s the link https://thepebbleinmyshoe.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/versatile-blogger-award/ I hope you’re well?

Leave a Reply

