Anxiety and stress

Nearly everyday I wake up stressed. I then spend the day anxious. Before I go back to bed stressed. But the fear of danger is ten thousand times more terrifying than danger itself. 
I worry about everything and anything. The past, the present and the future. But everybody does, so I’m no different – well, at least that’s what I tell myself. 
Yes, the stress can get too much. At times, it overwhelms me and I lose control. But I press on. I have to. As soon as I stop that’s it – I’m over. There’s no coming back. But life gives us distractions to help us deal with depression and keep our minds busy.
In some ways living with depression has made me stronger. Because I have seen the darkest depths it means that on the worst of days the next can only be better.
In life we all put ourselves under so much pressure to succeed, that sometimes we forget what we’ve already achieved. 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for following my blog Matt! I’m sorry you struggle with anxiety and depression. I think it’s great that you created this blog to help you get through it and I’m guessing, to help others as well.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Yep that’s the goal. Anxiety and depression can make us all feel so incredibly alone, when in fact we’re not. Millions of people worldwide suffer from the same debilitating illness but we can’t always see that. Your blog is one that is trying to make a difference!

      1. Thank you so much! It’s funny because ever since I started blogging, I realized just how many people struggle. It’s sad, but at the same time it helps you realize that you’re not alone. I wish you all the best.

      2. M_McKeen says:

        Likewise to you. Take care.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Thank you! I’ve struggled with these in the past, but I’ll give it a go! 🙂

      1. You’re welcome and no pressure.

  2. That’s how I feel too. I feel like sometimes when I get too much anxiety or get too stressed I always think about how it’s been worse for me before. So maybe being that low helps us now and shows us how far we’ve come and it gives us something to be proud of. You seem to really have a grasp on it though but sometimes the hardest advice to take is our own advice. It’s easy to tell others what to do but we can’t seem to do it and stop worrying or stressing. Anyways, keep going 🙂

    1. M_McKeen says:

      I think that’s the mindset we’ve got to take in order to be able to get through the really tough days. That’s so true, the hardest advice to follow is always your own. But I think we know deep down what we need to do to get better. Maybe we don’t trust to be right ourselves? I don’t know. Thank you and same to you too 🙂

  3. “Because I have seen the darkest depths it means that on the worst of days the next can only be better.”
    I think I’m in love with you.

    1. M_McKeen says:

      Haha that’s a very sweet thing to say!

Leave a Reply

