Acceptance #2

(Sorry didn’t seem to load earlier!) 

Recently I have been reading a lot of posts on other blogs; there is so much I can relate to. Today I just feel like I need to write something. I say this every time, but it’s been too long!

Living with depression is hard. I mean, really hard. It is so frustrating when friends don’t quite grasp the extent of my struggles. But it is not their fault; I don’t talk about it very often.
Depression is debilitating. Every day my mind is plagued with unhappy thoughts. There is no let up. I don’t know what the future holds. Recovery, I’d like to think, but it’ll take time. I don’t want sympathy, I just need support.
To combat depression, acceptance is essential. If I pretended everything was ok, and if I kept my depression a secret it would feel like I had something to be ashamed of. If that was the case, then I could never win this battle, because to conquer depression you have to be in control of your state of mind.
Only after we are accepting and honest about our feelings can we start to make progress.
In silence we suffer.
Take care
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Daniel Q says:

    We’ve all been there before. I constantly tell people “writers are born through pain” because it’s true! When no one understands what you’re going through you write to clear your mind and try to escape reality. I know that was my case but I promise if you keep a positive mind everything always finds it’s way! Just keep a positive mind!

    1. Thanks for commenting, you are definitely right! That’s exactly why I started writing, somehow seeing your thoughts on paper makes it slightly easier to deal with them!! Thank you

      1. Daniel Q says:

        Exactly! That is why it’s important for us to share our stories because someone out there truly understands what we’re going through. We’re never alone!

      2. I couldn’t agree more, the response I see on here is amazing, it really does make a difference! It’s not always easy to remember that though!

Leave a Reply

