Tomorrow

Tomorrow is a big day. It is the day which everyone wants to postpone, but to get it over and done with as soon as possible at the same time. For the past two months, all 18 year old students have endured life with a sword of Damocles looming above their heads, waiting to learn their fate, knowing that this one day – tomorrow – has the power to change lives. Tomorrow is Results day.

My a-level exams finished on the 20th June, nearly two months back now. So long ago in fact, I’ve forgotten exactly how I felt about them. The one thing that I do remember though is that I predicted myself a B, a C, and a D overall. This is somewhat lower than I had hoped for two years ago when I started sixth form, but now, I’m just glad it’s over. Nevertheless I am still anxious in regards to tomorrow. It is still a big day.

It’s easier said than done, but the best way to deal with this anxiety is to forget about school and uni altogether; it’s too late to change anything now. My reasoning is that if you achieve the grades for uni then great, if you don’t, then it wasn’t meant to be. The one thing it most certainly does not signify is the end of the world. A-level results and uni aren’t the be all and end all. There’s so much more to life than that.

We all need to forget about the future for a week, and live in the now. In years to come I don’t want to look back and regret this time. And so it is important that we make the most of out free time when we can. After uni, students are all tied down by debt and looking for a full-time job. There’s very little chance to actually go out and experience life.

Come September I won’t be heading off to uni, no matter what my results are. I’ve decided that a year off is best for me, as I continue to evaluate how best for myself to proceed. However the same cannot be said for 150 out of the 165 people in my year at school. Many of whom have since expressed doubts about going to uni straight away. I fear that we all rush into making decisions about our life’s direction at too young an age, when there is so much more time to think about it. And so I ask them ‘What do you want to do more than anything else?’.

If you ever find an answer, my advice would be to just do it. Have fun and experience life. And the best way to do that is by doing stuff you really want to do and enjoy doing. Personally, I just want to get away with a group of mates and travel for an indefinite period of time.

Leave a Reply

