There are some words better left unsaid

I wrote this poem a while back now. It was the day after a friend’s birthday, which I had enjoyed. However, after the high of the party I was deeply affected by the lows of reality. I vented my frustrations and feelings and this is what I came up with.

 

There are some words better left unsaid

Best to keep them locked up inside my head

I tried. I cried.

You are killing me deep down inside

My heart is half empty with sorrow

I long for a different tomorrow.

In an attempt to escape the confusion

I began living in an illusion

I do not know if you feel the same

Does your heart weigh heavy from the pain?

If not, I wish to sleep forever,

In my dreams we shall be together.

 

Although I wrote this a long time ago, the message and context of the poem still hold true. I’ve been debating over whether or not I should contact this girl recently. I really like her and have for a while, and I think that she might already know. I had hoped to tell her in person, but the opportunity never really arose. Now, although I know there’s very little good that can come from me telling her how I truly feel (she’s away all summer and then heads off to uni come September), it’s still something I need to get off my chest as…

Hearts can be broken

By words that have remained unspoken.

 

Hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to check out the rest of my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

